Hyde Park Gardens is a development built in the early 19th century as a grand terrace of large houses. The unique construction known as ‘back to front’ as the frontage on the garden was protected by only a small carriage drive, the traffic being directed to the mews at the back (now the front). The original idea was to face directly onto Hyde Park but the Uxbridge Road as it was then became too important. Samuel Pepys Cockerell as surveyor to the Bishop of London drew up plans for the building up of the diocesan estate in Paddington but following his death in 1827 the project was taken over and completed by George Gutch.

The garden was originally planned with fountains and hidden walkways, described by the press at the time was ‘a first rate garden’. The current layout follows very much the original design and in fact some of the old trees have only been lost in the past five years.

The management of the garden was taken over by the residents 15 years ago and has frequently won the award for the best large private garden in London. The garden has different facets, the rear along the Bayswater Road being a woodland path naturally encouraging a variety of birds. In total contrast the front is more formal offering year-round colour, with paths and arches leading to the woodland beyond.

Hypde Park Gardens